First Timer - Just Discovered the Gender

streakanime

Hello. My name is David and I'm actually new to this community. Myself and my wife had an ultrasound today and we finally know the gender of our baby. We are having a boy. We even managed to agree on the name. This is my first time having a child (and hers). Looking for some supports, tips, guidance. Thanks!

writer811

Congratulations! What did you decide to name your boy? Ok, some tips... First, say good-bye to the notion of a good night's sleep. Babies run on their own crazy schedules and you will be running around at all hours of the night and day to tend to his needs. Second, don't underestimate the financial costs of raising a child. You'll be paying for diapers, milk (If you're not the breastfeeding type) food, toys and doctor's check-ups. Even the process of having a baby is going to set you back by thousands. Finally, don't assume anything. A young child's behavior can change radically in a very short period of time, even to the point where it seems like you're not even dealing with the same child and that will only get worse as they get older. Good luck!

Michael

You're one up on me, streakanime. The only ultrasound we ever had yielded a girl. She's a handful, too. I think she has the energy of six boys and keeps me busy.

jason

Administrator
Staff member
Greetings and salutations. Congratulations on your first. While writer811 is correct on some of those points, there is the other side. The laughter, the staring at you with those baby eye, and so much joy that comes along with it. Hard work and costly? Yes. Worth it? With all my life.

Save up where you can, use coupons, they are always out for diapers and such. And be prepared for the ride of a lifetime.

Lorenzo