How do I handle this situation?

Scooter

My step-son got an in school suspension for cussing at school last week. Today, his mother got a call from the school. Yesterday was his last day at ALC (in school suspension, and he has already got another in school suspension for cussing. His mother is beside herself and doesn't know what to do. I know she is leaning on me for support. I think he needs a severe punishment, but I know it is hard for her to do that. At the same time I am worried about handing out and enforcing a hard punishment because I am the "Step-Dad", not the "Real-Dad". His real dad abandoned them years ago and I know there are still problems because of that. How do you think I should handle this situation?

Lieutenant

Scooter this is definitely a touch spot to be in. As a law enforcement officer I will give you some advice from both a father and a cop. I would remove the thought from your head that your only the step-dad. Your there for that child and you do the best you can, which makes you a real dad. As a father I am not sure how much a punishment would do since the schools punishments aren't working. Have you ever tried sitting down and talking with him? Just say you want to talk man to man and figure out what makes him want to cuss at school. Maybe he is just angry about his father and needs someone to talk to. Now as a cop I would suggest contacting the county where you live. The school should have the information but they can get you set up with a behavioral counselor at little to no cost. This again gives him someone to talk to but is a more stern approach. I wish you the best of luck and hope you can work it out. Remember your that child's father, stop worrying about only being a "step."

Scooter