Too much fast food

Lorenzo

With five kids and no maid, everyone in the house has his or her own set of chores. While my wife and I try to provide home-cooked meals for the kiddos, we always end up ordering or eating out in the neighborhood fast food restaurants. While this set-up makes things easier for all of us, I am concerned about the amount of "bad" nutrients I'm giving my kids. :(

Victor Leigh

I think it would be more a case of lack of nutrients rather than an excess of bad nutrients. You need more than what you can get in fast food. So try to make time for some home-cooked meals at least once a week.

collin

As a fitness professional, I would have to say try for healthful home-cooked meals more like 7 times per week. Even at that, with the state of most store bought foods this day you are lucky, and not likely to get enough actual nutrients even in the best case scenario, so eating from fast food restaurants kills your families chances of getting proper nutrition to almost 0.

Modern over-farming and pesticides and over-utilization of the land has even what most would consider to be the healthiest of foods are now lacking in the nutrients they once held. The land is being stripped of it's nutrients, and hence, so is your food.

Eating as healthy as possible, with supplementation with a good whole food multi-vitamin and mineral supplement is needed to try to make sure you are getting everything you need to be healthy.

Victor

Perhaps you can cook several meals once or twice a week, then freeze them. On busy nights, pull a dish out and reheat it for a quick dinner.

Donald

Make a couple of huge pots of soup every so often. Throw everything into it. Buy some of those plastic cups like barbecue comes in. They're cheap at the food warehouses. Fill them up, slap a label and a date on them. They thaw in a few hours or overnight in the refrigerator. It's a great hurry up meal with a sandwich.

Bear