Homeschooling

jblack

What are your thoughts of home schooling? It seems more and more people are doing it. Is it better? Do the kids get socialized while home schooling? How much time do you have to devote to it?

Victor

We seriously considered it but ultimately decided in favor of public school. If our kids don't do well there, we will re-evaluate and perhaps bring them home. Homeschooling can be wonderful (we're just a bit lazy). As for socialization, there are homeschool co-ops, league sports, and dance and music classes where kids can make friends.

JRDeep

I'm for it, as long as I'm not the one teaching my kids. I'm not good with teaching anyone. I'm patient enough, but don't feel articulate enough to do it well.

Victor Leigh

Too late to think about it now. All the kids have already flown the nest, so to speak.

However if ever I were to start up a new batch of kids, home schooling will be at the top of the list of things to do. Worse come to the worst, might as well teach my kids the wrong things myself rather than have the schools do it. At least I would know what I am teaching my kids.

Lorenzo

I think homeschooling is a better alternative if you or your spouse is a full-time parent and you only have a couple of kids to teach. Based on a friend's experience (who homeschooled her kids at some point), homeschooling takes much more time and effort on your part because you need to be tackling different subjects, including sports or music lessons. Like a "regular" school, you have to follow a schedule for a specific subject or activity. Add to that the daily household chores like cooking, cleaning, washing, among others. I guess homeschooling might be applicable to some but not to everyone.

Timothy